If you want to drive any type of vehicle in Delaware, you will need to get information about the license plates. This article will allow you to get all the needed information about the forms and types of license plates and the required fees.
In case of stolen, damaged or lost license plates you need to visit your local Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You should request a replacement. And the cost for the replacement will be $15 including the registration fee ($10) and sticker fee ($5).
In the State of Delaware, you will find the Special, Military, College, and Vanity plates. Also you may find a large variety of specialty license plates in this State each one carrying a unique aim.
Black and white license plates carry a prestigious sign in the State of Delaware. Statistics confirm that people pay thousands of dollars for those plates.
Yet there are some required rules for the black and white plates in Delaware. These are the historic reproductions and only The Delaware Historic Plate Co. may publish them. So you may gain a historic replica plate by law. You should issue the number first before the plates are made with porcelain and stainless steel.
To have a porcelain plate your number should match the following qualifications:
You may distinguish the porcelain plates with a diamond separator between the 3rd and 4th numbers on the right side of the plate.
The other type is a plate made with stainless steel. The numbers on it can not be higher than:
You need to provide a photo of the registration card with the number of the tag.
There are also special plates in the State of Delaware. These help to raise funds for environmental, animal welfare, etc.
You need to pay some fee for these plates annually to your local DMV.
You must get a license plate from the local DMV or an authorized company. In other cases, it is illegal to get unauthorized plates.
The Delaware license plates are formed with up to 7 characters. Here are some prefixes, that you will notice on the license plate:
You can order a Delaware personalized license plate at the local DMV. The process will take up to six weeks. You can order the plate if you are a registered owner and the needed plate is registered at the DMV before the issuance.
The fee for this type of license is $40 per year. You should pay this fee in addition to the vehicle registration annual fee.
The State law allows the individual to have a letter or a combination of letters on the license plate. But the quantity of the letters and numerals can not exceed 7 characters. In the case of motorcycles, the number of characters on the license plate can not exceed 5 characters. In this case, all the characters including space, a hyphen, etc are counted as one character.
If you like to identify the vehicle owner, then you may do it by using the license plate number. Even though the information is limited, but you may find some important facts about the vehicle itself. If you have a valid reason that complies with the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), then you may obtain additional information. This includes his/her criminal background and the vehicle’s history, especially its accident history.
You may find all the mentioned information by using so-called third-party providers, which are some chosen websites. These websites give you information taken from the DMV, court, vital statistics databases, etc.
You may search the owner of the vehicle using the VIN of the license plate.
The license plate search is the number one issue for all the drivers, who want to buy a used car. So they may get a full report about all the cars if they get access to the Internet.
You do not even need to search via VIN. You need to type the license plate number in the Delaware license plate search. And the result will appear in a short frame of time.
The service can provide information about standard and personalized license plates.
You may find different tags for the license plates in Delaware.
If your license was lost, damaged, or stolen, then you need to replace it quickly to avoid expensive prices.
In case of stolen, damaged, or lost license plates, you need to visit your local DMV in person to get a replacement. The DMV does not accept vehicle registration documentation online or via Email. You need to present the following documents:
It is very important to report to the local police about the stolen or lost license plate. In this case, someone may try to steal your personal information along with the license plate.
The specialty license plates are allowed to passenger vehicles or trucks whose weight does not exceed 3/4b ton.
Here you may find a large variety of specialty license plates in the State of Delaware.
By purchasing this license plate, you can support the pollinator habitat creation. The fee for this license plate is $50.
You may promote non-motorized transportation for the residents of the State by getting this license plate. The fee is $40.
You can celebrate the Delaware State Education Association’s 100th anniversary by purchasing this license. The fee for this license is $15.
You will transfer the $50 fee to the Protecting Delaware’s Children fund by getting this license plate.
The paid $50 will go to the organizations or veterinary clinics to provide shelters for dogs and cats.
These license plates cost $50. And the paid fee goes to the various environmental projects.
You will promote fresh and saltwater fishing in the State by purchasing this license plate.
The $50 fee for this plate will go to the projects related to the preservation of the farmlands in the State of Delaware.
All the fees for this license plate support the different branches of the equine industry in the State.
The $50 that you pay for this license plate will go to the “Keep Delaware Beautiful” fund.
The members of various groups and organizations can get these specialty license plates. And there are also specialty license plates for non-profit organizations.
Some vanity license plates may be rejected for one or more reasons, check out our Delaware Banned License Plates page for more details.