Delaware CPA License

Delaware CPA License

To function with full efficiency, every company, organization and government agency needs an accountant. When you obtain a CPA license, your career and salary opportunities will improve. It is not easy to do, because each state has its own licensing standards, but it is possible with a little hard work. To find out how to become a CPA in Delaware continue reading our article.

Is an accounting degree required for CPA in Delaware?

To become licensed and appear on Delaware CPA license lookup, multiple licensing and registration requirements must be met properly in order to operate as a CPA in Delaware.

CPAs must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree and complete 150 semester college hours. Also, they must confirm that their program is accredited by the Delaware State Board of Accountancy if they are currently enrolled in an accounting program or have already earned a degree.

How do I become a CPA in Delaware?

  • In order to become a CPA in Delaware, you need to have a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university
  • 150 semester hours focusing on accounting including:

At least 24 semester courses on accounting principles, intermediate accounting, cost accounting, tax, auditing, advanced accounting, accounting information systems and law. For this reason, courses in other business subjects, such as banking, computer science, economics, finance, insurance, management and marketing, are not recognized as accounting courses.

Only the experience gained after the award of the degree for which the applicant is applying is accepted.

A ‘year’ of skilled experience must consist of full or part-time employment lasting from one to three years and covering at least 2,000 hours of work as defined in subsection (providing any type of services or advice using accounting skills, attest, compilation, management, financial advisory, tax or consulting services).

You must complete the self-study ethics course of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and pass the exam with a score of at least 90 percent.

CPA License Renewal in Delaware

An applicant can renew his license starting from July 1 – June 30; odd years (biennial fixed). Each biennial reporting period ends on June 30 of each odd-numbered year.

Each holder of a permit must have completed at least 80 hours of required continuing professional education per biennial reporting period. Each biennial reporting period for each odd-numbered year ends on June 30.

In the immediately preceding two-year period, the 80 hours of acceptable continuing professional training submitted must have been completed and must include eight credit hours in accounting and/or auditing and eight hours in taxation and four credit hours in a Delaware specific ethics course approved by the Board.

Each holder of the permit must complete at least an additional 20 credit hours in accounting, auditing or taxation in addition to these 20 specified hours. Beginning on 1 July 2017, each holder of the permit must complete at least 20 hours of continuing vocational training for each year of the reporting period.



Lily has six years of expertise as an SEO content writer. She has authored numerous articles for a variety of websites and businesses on various topics. She can help with ghostwriting, blog writing, guest posting, tech writing, etc. Lily writes SEO content for companies looking to improve their Google search rankings. She regularly writes articles about business licenses, digital marketing, cybersecurity, fashion, psychology, etc. Lily has established a unique writing style throughout the years of content writing for a variety of websites. She has also worked as an SEO specialist. Lily has achieved very high rankings for the websites with which she has collaborated. In her works, she employs a combination of various SEO and content tools, as she understands that well-optimized content is the KING.